The following are my interpretations. Different leagues (NBA, OHSAA, Australian, etc.) keep stats slightly different.
THE4RINGZ;627729 wrote:Oh, Pitman?
-- A blocked shot counts as a field goal attempt for the offensive player.
-- Whoever recovers the ball is credited with a rebound, be it an offensive or defensive rebound. As long as the shot is deemed a field goal attempt, it must have a rebounder, whether it is an individual or a team rebound, with the only exception I can think of being that the time expires for the period.
-- If you want to get technical, even on a free throw which has a violation on the shooting team, a dead ball rebound is normally credited to the defensive team (or something like that? hmm). In this case, no free throw attempt would be credited no matter who records the violation - shooter or someone in the lane.
-- If nobody recovers the ball and it goes out of bounds (even if after players fight over/deflect the ball), the appropriate team is credited with a TEAM rebound, either offensive or defensive. The same goes for a ball that bounces off the rim and hits support beams for the backboard, which would be a team defensive rebound for the defense.
-- In more advanced stat-keeping systems (or foreign ones that keep "defensive assists"), if a teammate of the player who blocked the shot recovers the ball, the player who blocked the shot is credited with a "defensive assist". If the player who blocked the ball recovers the ball, he is not awarded a defensive assist.
ricola;627757 wrote:or..if you block a shot and also recover the ball, you get a block AND a rebound?
Yes.
ricola;628178 wrote:Here's another question: Saw a player recently attempt a shot in the lane area. He was driving under the basket, with the attempt to do a reverse layup. however, defense had good position, and he was forced to tiptoe the baseline, and when he attempted the shot was so far behind the backboard that his shot attempt hit the back of the backboard. Is this still a shot attempt (with no rebound obviously) or is this a turnover? or both?
tfloangel;628290 wrote:shot attempt with a team rebound, right?
-- Correct. If it was deemed a field goal attempt, it would be a team rebound for the appropriate team.
-- If the ball was stripped and hit the back of the backboard and then the ball awarded to the defensive team, it would be a turnover.
-- Likewise, if a player commits an "player control"/charge while on offense, that player is credited with a turnover.
wildcats20;628514 wrote:How does everyone feel about assists??
I think the standard definition is any pass that leads directly to a bucket, usually 2 or less dribbles. But what about on a foul on the shot?? When I was coaching I always told my stats guys to give an assist if the player makes BOTH free throws, but ONLY if he makes both. Now I know this is not used everywhere, actually I think it is somewhat frowned upon. I just always felt like you shouldn't penalize the passer for a foul being committed.
ricola;628574 wrote:no. that one I know. No assist on a missed shot and foul. Doesn't matter if he makes none, one, or both. At least OFFICIALLY that shouldn't be an assist. (the passer also gets the shaft if the pass recient misses a wide open bunny layup---but that's the breaks)
-- If a player shoots and is fouled on the shot and the shot does not go in, it is not credited as a shot attempt, and it would not count as an assist if the player made any free throws. If the shot is good, though, an assist CAN be credited.
-- It is a somewhat similar concept as pass interference in football. If the pass is incomplete and pass interference was called, there is no pass attempt. If the player catches the ball, a pass attempt, completion, and reception are all recorded (well, as long as the penalty was declined, since that's normally what happens).
-- As for assists, this is the hardest part to record, and it is definitely a judgement call. There are many times where someone takes less than 2 dribbles, and an assist is not credited. There are other times when more than 2 dribbles are taken, and an assist is credited.
-- If I pass it to our shooting guard just outside the 3-point arc, then he stands there for 3 seconds, pump fakes, takes 1 dribble closer, then makes a jump shot, an assist may or may not (probably not) be credited to the player who passed the ball. This would be because the pass did not directly lead to the score. It was the player with the ball that made the play, not the passer.
-- If I get a defensive rebound and outlet pass to a team mate around mid-court, and he takes 3 or 4 dribbles (depending on how fast or slow the dribbler is, haha) and makes an easy layup, an assist may or may not be credited. Normally on quickly-developing fast breaks that occur like this, an assist may be credited.
-- It is a judgement call as to whether or not the pass led to the score, or an independent offensive move by the scorer led to the score.
-- The toughest ones are when there is an entry pass from a guard to a post player who takes a few dribbles or pump fakes with a power dribble, then scores inside. Normally the deciding factor is how long the play takes to develop after the player receives the ball. If the ball is caught on the block and the player fluidly moves, dribbles, pump fakes, and puts it up, an assist may be credited. Conversely, if the post player catches the entry pass, feels out the defender (like you see them do in the NBA a lot), fakes left, dribbles right, fakes again, and then scores 8 seconds later, an assist may or may not be credited.
-- Again, it's a total judgement call. But when it comes down to it, 2 dribbles is a good measuring stick.
I hope these explanations help. Please feel free to ask more.