Laley23;1742043 wrote:I still can't figure out why the 2nd goal counted. That should be an indirect free kick, correct?
Laley23;1742045 wrote:Guzan saved the ball, run to throw it forward, and a toenail stepped on the 18 yard box line as he released it. Linesman flagged it for illegal touching. Bogus call, but even worse if they fucked up the direct/indirect aspect of it.
Handling is always a direct free kick. The only time it isn't is when there's a pass back (intentionally by foot OR throw in OR trickery) to the GK and he handles the ball -- those are considered illegal touching circumstances.
Ytowngirlinfla;1742112 wrote:He was just plain awful.
I am not so harsh on him from the match. The handling call was a tough one to make. If any team is in Mexico's shoes, they want that call. If any team is in Panama's shoes, they don't want that call. Yes, handling is really the only law that brings in "deliberate" into discussion...but, there's numerous times that handling is called where it's clearly not deliberate too.
The red card early, while I thought it was harsh so early, probably was a good call. Can't lead with elbows to someone's face -- even if there may have been slight/little contact. It's probably a call that needs to be made more often. If he doesn't lead with his elbow and is in better position instead of a "jumping at" position, then it's probably not going to be a red.
Really the only thing I wish Geiger would've done was halt the action in the numerous instances there was debris thrown on the field. That's got to stop. CONCACAF better come down on fans that do that. Player safety is at question here, and that's the referee's main job.