From the NCAA rulebook:
So the refs still got it wrong, though it probably wouldn't make a difference. Maybe Akron's moron coach wouldn't have rushed out two dumb playcalls if they had a few more ticks.136. Line to gain
Third and 2 on the A-45. Ball carrier A22 is ruled down at the A-46 with 9:50 on the game clock. Replays show that the ball was at the A-47 when he was down.
Ruling: Reviewable play, regarding whether
A22 made the line to gain. Reverse to first down, A 1-10 on A-47. The
game clock should be adjusted to 9:50 and started on the Referee’s signal (Rules 12-3-3-e and 12-3-5-b)
Mike Pereira‏@MikePereira