SportsAndLady;1424695 wrote:So can someone explain what happened? I'm just now seeing this (see: waking up). I was watching it live yesterday and remember what he did (I remember Nick Faldo confusing himself whether it was a "red" or "yellow"..whatever that means).
What actually did he do wrong?
Their line of reasoning is that when someone drops a ball for the purpose of replaying a stroke they have to do so as "nearly as possible."
Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or
http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-26/
Originally they had decided he did. But in his press conference afterwards when he said he intentionally dropped it 2 yards behind the previous spot, they deemed that to be in violation of the rule.
That takes us to rule 20-5 which dictates how to do it at different parts of the course, and the penalty for violating that which is loss of the hole in match play or a 2 stroke penalty in stroke play.
http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-20/#20-5