The basas are loaded with no one out. The batter hits a pop up that the second baseman chases approx. 15 ft. into the outfield where the ball hits his glove and falls to the ground. After runners advance and the play stops, the base ump calls the batter out citing the infield fly rule. His reasoning was that it was a relatively routine play and in his judgement the ball should have been caught. What's the correct call?
May 24, 2010 8:55am
Gblock
G
G
Gblock
Mon, May 24, 2010 9:05 AMMay 24, 2010 9:05 AM
thats the correct call....usually the determining factor can be did the infielder turn his back to the infield as he was going back...if he never turned his back its surely a infield fly rule...if he did turn and run a lot of times they will call it an error if he drops it. but as a coach you dont mind the infield fly rule there because even if he drops it you are giving up an out as most likely the other runners went back to their base anyway.
May 24, 2010 9:05am
Altor
Member
A
62posts
A
Altor
Member
62
posts
Mon, May 24, 2010 9:27 AMMay 24, 2010 9:27 AM
It is solely the umpire's judgment about whether the fly ball required "ordinary effort" to catch by an infielder. Since that is what he judged it to be, he made the correct call on IFF.
May 24, 2010 9:27am
Def Leopard
Senior Member
D
176posts
D
Def Leopard
Senior Member
176
posts
Mon, May 24, 2010 11:17 AMMay 24, 2010 11:17 AM
Thanks for your feedback.
May 24, 2010 11:17am
darbypitcher22
Senior Member
8,000posts
darbypitcher22
Senior Member
8,000
posts
Mon, May 24, 2010 11:33 AMMay 24, 2010 11:33 AM
You got two pretty good answers there
May 24, 2010 11:33am
Al Bundy
Senior Member
A
4,180posts
A
Al Bundy
Senior Member
4,180
posts
Mon, May 24, 2010 11:37 AMMay 24, 2010 11:37 AM
Did the ump call infield fly while the ball was in the air?
May 24, 2010 11:37am
darbypitcher22
Senior Member
8,000posts
darbypitcher22
Senior Member
8,000
posts
Mon, May 24, 2010 12:45 PMMay 24, 2010 12:45 PM
^^^^^
you know they're supposed to but they don't always do it... I've prompted an umpire to call it while the ball is coming down before lol
May 24, 2010 12:45pm
Def Leopard
Senior Member
D
176posts
D
Def Leopard
Senior Member
176
posts
Mon, May 24, 2010 1:47 PMMay 24, 2010 1:47 PM
No call was made until the play was over. I was also under the impression IFF was called while the ball was in the air. If IFF is called and the fielder misses the ball, can the runners advance?
May 24, 2010 1:47pm
Wooball
Senior Member
1,325posts
Wooball
Senior Member
1,325
posts
Mon, May 24, 2010 2:10 PMMay 24, 2010 2:10 PM
runners may advance at their own risk
May 24, 2010 2:10pm
Altor
Member
A
62posts
A
Altor
Member
62
posts
Mon, May 24, 2010 4:38 PMMay 24, 2010 4:38 PM
I believe it was a point of emphasis this year that the IFF need not be called during the play in order to be applied properly. The fielders, runners, and coaches are expected to know the rule and when it should be applied.
That said, the umpire really should call it earlier rather than later. The purpose of the rule is to keep the runners from a disadvantage. They can easily lose that protection if they have to determine during a play whether the umpire will eventually rule it an IFF, especially on a borderline "ordinary effort" judgment like you describe.
As Wooball said, runners may advance at their own risk. If the ball is not caught, they do not have to tag up.